Official Luthiers Forum!

Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 12:47 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum rules

Be Nice to our new friends! Remember, everybody starts somewhere!

Post subject: Truss Rod question
PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2017 9:07 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

First name: Devery
Last Name: Harper
City: Naples
State: FL
Zip/Postal Code: 34109
Focus: Build
Hello all, I am new to the forums, I am also new to guitar building! I recently bought a Martin Mahogany Dreadnought kit. So far everything is going well and I am about to put the back on and close up the body. Before I do that I have been looking ahead in the process. This is where my question comes in.

I am using both the instructions that came with the kit and I also bought an online manual from kitguitarmanuals.com. When I compare the truss rod in both of these instruction manuals and the one that came with the kit they are not the same. So, before I close her up I would like to get some opinions from some veteran guitar makers. Here's a picture:
Attachment:
truss rod.JPG

The picture in the upper left is the rod that came with the kit. The other two pictures are pictures from the manuals. The manuals show a rod that extends well beyond the dovetail of the neck. The one that came with the kit is flush with the dovetail. Now, I will admit, I am building a kit guitar and I know NOTHING about truss rods. I don't know what they do or how they work. I kind of pictured them sucking the neck into the body by tightening the alen key. But now that I see mine I am at a total loss on its purpose. So I guess my question is is the rod I have the correct setup? Am I missing any parts that extend it beyond the dovetail? Or should it be flush like it is? Also, if anyone would like to give a brief truss rod 101 I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you so much!

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post subject: Re: Truss Rod question