It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:47 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2016 5:42 pm 
Mahogany
Mahogany

First name: Alexander
Focus: Build
Hey everyone.

I have some toolpaths where I cut out a guitar neck. While doing any straight cuts, my CNC router runs great. When I get into doing the heel or volute carve on the guitar neck, the CNC is going through A LOT of little code to make the moves and it can start to shudder / jitter pretty bad. It shakes the whole CNC.

I am running those paths at 50 IPM but Mach 3 only says it makes it to 10-15 IPM for all those lines.

I don't know anything about CV mode but could it be that? Or would it be my post processor for Mastercam X4?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2016 5:45 pm 
Cocobolo
Cocobolo

First name: Leo
Last Name: Pedersen
City: Bowen Island
State: British Columbia
Zip/Postal Code: V0N 1G2
I'm still learning about CV issues but if my understanding is correct you should make sure that Mach3 is not in Exact Stop mode.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2016 6:15 pm 
Mahogany
Mahogany

Durero wrote:
I'm still learning about CV issues but if my understanding is correct you should make sure that Mach3 is not in Exact Stop mode.

I will check and see if it is. Thanks.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2016 3:23 pm 
Cocobolo
Cocobolo

First name: Allen
Last Name: McFarlen
City: Mt. Sheridan
State: Qld.
Zip/Postal Code: 4868
I had some jittery moves on some curves a couple of weeks ago. Using Fusion360 and the Mach3 post processor.

It turned out that the code being generated had lots of little moves in some of the tighter curves. So what fixed it was to turn on smoothing for the tool path and altering the resolution. It also reduced the files size from 87kb down to 15kb. A really significant number of lines to do the same thing, but better.

Idon't know if those options are available in your software, but certainly worth a look.