Cocobolo
Cocobolo

First name: Joe
Last Name: McGlynn
City: Scotts Valley
State: CA
Zip/Postal Code: 95066
Focus: Build
OK, it may be premature to post something committing to building a guitar, but what the heck?

I've built lots of stuff, but never a guitar. Furniture, custom cars and motorcycles, knives, etc, etc. A little of this, and a little of that. I'm not expert at anything, I just like to tinker.

I'm also not much of a guitar player either, I just started learning about six months ago.

I've decided on building a Gibson-ish L-1 clone from Georgia Luthier plans. Over the weekend I started building tooling.

First, a go-bar press. I built it as a roll around cart with the idea I could store extra radius plates in the bottom. I'll probably add some dividers and shelves, and maybe doors to it once I have a better handle on where I'm going. Storing the fox bender would free up a little space in the shop.

The bender is nearly done. I need to add the springs and hold-downs, but it seems like it should work. I have three 150 watt light bulbs in it for heat. The form for the L1 is done. I lined the inside with thin sheetmetal and covered the top with thin stainless.

And finally the mold is done.

I ordered some materials from LMII and StewMac (kerfing, brace wood, spruce for the top, etc.) I have some Sapele that I'm planning to resaw for the sides and back. I'll probably make a bending pipe to pre-bend the waist as I'm concerned about that area. It will be interesting to see how this goes.

Post subject: Re: Joe's L-1 Build
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2016 5:52 pm 
Koa
Koa

First name: Patrick
Last Name: Hanna
State: Missouri
Okay, Joe,
Keep the progress photos coming. When you get into the tricky stuff (thickenssing, bracing, etc.) I recommend you ask for advice here, because some very expert members will help you.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2016 6:06 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

City: Lenoir City
State: TN
Zip/Postal Code: 37772
Focus: Repair