PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2021 2:36 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

First name: BOB
Last Name: HALPIN
City: Toronto
Zip/Postal Code: M2N1S1
Focus: Repair
Hi all. My first post here! I've read lots of great stuff on this forum so am glad to be here.

First off - I'm an amateur. But one with the desire to preserve - and sometimes rescue - instruments that have seen hard-times.

My last project was in no way a luthier endeavor - rescuing a chopped Hammond B3. It had it's legs chopped off sometime in the past, was painted white (with paint dripped all over the insides.) Bass-pedal wiring chopped off and horrendous wiring inside. It was a mess. I found a skilled carpenter to rebuild the bottom of the beast, then sourced a bass-pedal switch assembly and then completed about 200 solder connections to get the manuals, pre-amp, bass-pedals, etc. all hooked up. After some squeaks, howls, rattles, and hums, the beast sounds amazing!

So, that was not meant as a boast - just to show I am a determined bugger. (And, as I tell people - I may be crazy, but I'm not stupid.)

Oh - and I repaired a Harmony Stella whose bridge was split in two. (Common problem I think.) So that's kind of "Luthier. And I re-capped and replaced a lot of components in my '63 Feder Twin-reverb.

So that's me. Just enough skill to be dangerous! :D

Now, my latest rescue job.

I just picked-up an Ovation acoustic. I'm not sure of the model - the inside label is gone. (Least of my worries!) There is a serial number which appears to make it a 1973 vintage. And back in '73 I played a friends Ovation a lot - and liked it a lot. So I was happy to find this one. Now it gets interesting ...

I got it through an an-line auction for $25 CDN because it's rough shape. Honestly, it looks like it was used in a bar-fight, and lost. See photo at bottom of post.

I won't get into the crack in the head-stock quite yet - it's pretty stable. But needs attention after the bridge repair.