All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Regal parlor resto
PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 8:57 pm 
Cocobolo
Cocobolo

First name: Mark
Last Name: Gammell
State: NE
I'm pretty new to all of this. I've done 3 refrets (1 included re-radiusing my old Egmond 12 string), some bridge/saddle work & such, and now I'm doing my first work on someone else's guitar. It's a very cool Regal parlor guitar (saw that coming, didn't ya?). I've done a little research on these and I have yet to find one quite like this, especially the inlaid logo on the headstock. He just wanted the tuners fixed, but they'll have to be replaced, because the gears are cracked and aren't held on with screws. That's easy enough. But I really wanna make this thing nice, cuz it looks like a special guitar and I know it has a lot of sentimental value. There are cracks in the top that I can probably fix, even if I can't make them invisible. There has been a trapeze tailpiece added, probably because the pinned bridge is cracked. I was gonna replace it, but I'll never get a new one to look this cool, and if I clean up the trapeze (and center it!) it should be OK. I'll replace the crappy plastic saddle, though. The nut appears to be rosewood, and it's in great shape, as are the frets. This guitar has a great patina to it and I have no desire to change that, just get it tuning and playing nice.

I guess my main reason for posting is to get any pointers and also to see if anyone knows more about this guitar than what I'm finding on the information super highway. Like I said, I have yet to find one that looks quite like this.

Eric Cartman

Post subject: Re: Regal parlor resto
PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2014 7:21 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

City: Lenoir City
State: TN
Zip/Postal Code: 37772
Focus: Repair