Walnut

First name: Kan-Hung
Last Name: Chiu
City: Taipei County
State: Non-US/Other
Zip/Postal Code: 220
Focus: Build
Hello,
This is my first time post here. I build a ziricote S&B + Italian spruce top drad one year ago, my customer complain that back finish is start to crack. I took it back than sand it down and refinish it with french polish. And today I got the mail said the back still crack again.
Is this a common problem on ziricote? And is there any good solution for it?

This is the pic the guitar first time finished. Not really sure waht's wrong with it. Hope you guys could give me some input, thanks

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 8:16 am 
Old Growth Brazilian Rosewood
Old Growth Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Hesh
Last Name: Breakstone
City: Ann Arbor
State: Michigan
Hi Kan-Hung and welcome to the OLF! [:Y:]

Before attempting to diagnose why the guitar is cracking we would need to know more about how you built it. Here are some of the questions that come to my mind:

1) How well seasoned was the Ziricote before you used it for this guitar, how long had you had it, how do you store your wood, etc?

2) What kind of humidity control do you have in your shop including the range of relative humidity that you keep your shop at?

3) What is the climate, relative humidity wise, that the customer keeps the instrument in?

4) Where are the cracks exactly?

Thanks. Ziricote is known to be crack-friendly.... :? and has been called on this very forum Mexican Crack Wood before. It may not be something that you did or did not do or it may be a contributing factor. Once we know more I'm sure that folks here would be keen to help you.

Welcome again

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 9:27 am 
Cocobolo
Cocobolo

First name: Rob
Last Name: Lak
State: Massachusetts
Following this one closely as i hopefully will be starting the finish on my first Ziricote body shortly.
Details please!

Enquiring minds wanna know...

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 10:05 am 
Brazilian Rosewood