Walnut

First name: Jonathan
Last Name: Wright
City: Tehachapi
State: CA
Zip/Postal Code: 93561
Focus: Build
Hello Everyone,
I'm Jonathan Wright. I have been woodworking for a few years, and the goal was always to get to the point where I would feel comfortable attempting an acoustic guitar build. I purchased plans from Georgia luthier supply for their Jumbo, J200. I will soon be ordering a Sitka top, maple sides back and a 3 piece maple neck. I am really excited to start and I am sure I will have a ton of questions along the way. I am active duty Air Force stationed at Edwards AFB, people here call me Geppetto. I look forward to learning from you all.

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2016 12:32 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Rodger
Last Name: Knox
City: Baltimore
State: MD
Zip/Postal Code: 21234
Welcome aboard, and thanks for your service. Careful, building a guitar can be habit forming.
Ask about anything you don't understand, there's hundreds of years of experience here that are glad to answer questions. A more specific question usually gets a more detailed answer.

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2016 9:15 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

Thanks Rodger,
I picked up my plans from the printer today. I am hoping it is addicting :) Id love to get good at this. I am hoping to build the guitar mostly from the plans and from the book by Jonathan Natelson & William Cumpiano. I saw someone on here recommend that for the first acoustic build go for a bolt on neck, my plans do detail an option for a bolt on neck, I hadn't originally wanted to do a bolt on, but I do see the merit in the adjust-ability. First thing I am going to do is start building my forms and a bending iron, I still don't have pictures of the specific pieces Ill be working with. I'll post them once they show up.

Is there a good default size diameter pipe for a makeshift bending iron?

is building a neck as daunting as it sounds?

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2016 9:45 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member