All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Sat Mar 01, 2014 11:22 am 
Cocobolo
Cocobolo

First name: Rob
Last Name: Lak
State: Massachusetts
Focus: Build
This is part of thread viewtopic.php?f=10101&t=41876.

Hi all… I thought I'd post the process I am going through to tune the top and back. As a newbie, I don’t know that I have ever seen the process posted and I know this is the sort of thing that’s really interesting to someone who has never seen it done. At least it would have been for me had I ever seen one.

A few notes about my top:

The top is LS redwood.
It is thicknessed at a gradient - 3.2 mm at the upper bout down to 2.8mm at the bottom end shooting for 3mm at the bridge.

While I don’t have a copy of the actual stiffness/density ratios, what I do know is that when we charted this top against other tops Al had done, this top was considerably off the average line in terms of stiffness.

This is the initial check of Chladni patterns. Top row is the top and bottom row is the back. The b/s is ziricote.
Attachment:
Chladni Initials.JPG

Where there are multiple values, those are the resulting frequency drop as I shaved the various braces.
The goal for the top was to get the Frequency to drop for the image where the pattern was a ring in the lower soundboard (357 hz initially). My attempts to get there follow…

This was my initial pattern where the goal was to have a complete ring in the lower bout. It started off at 357 hz.
Attachment:
1 result.JPG

For the most part when I shaved the braces, (at least in the beginning) I would just take one pass off the braces.

With the goal to transform that initial pattern into a circle by closing the open bottom and upper sides, I took a bit off the lower legs of the main X braces.
Attachment:
Reducing long X legs.jpg

Attachment:
2 more reduction long X.JPG

The resulting change started to bring the bottom of the ring northwards.
I did not log the change in Hz at that point.
Attachment:
2 result.JPG