Official Luthiers Forum!

Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 8:52 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum rules

Same rules apply to all forums at the Luthiers Forum.

PostPosted: Sun Dec 29, 2013 11:55 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

First name: Paul
Last Name: Eisenbrey
City: BELLEVUE
State: Washington
Zip/Postal Code: 98008
Focus: Build
Hi folks,

My Dad brought me his Martin Ukulele for repair. It is a 1950's version (probably 1954, given that he bought it to woo Mom -- who married him anyway). It is in pretty rough shape. It's been dropped more than once, has a crack running the length of the treble side rib, and the friction pegs no longer frict. In its current condition I'm pretty sure it has little monetary value, but it has enough sentimental value that I'd like to get it set right again.

I've never worked on a uke before. I'm pretty sure I can fix the crack by closing it with a few gentle clamps and wicking in some CA glue. But I have no idea if I should try and fix the friction pegs, or replace them with geared tuners.

Any suggestions or advice would be warmly appreciated.

--Paul

PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2013 1:18 am 
Koa
Koa

Location: 8.33±0.35 kpc from Galactic center, 20 light-years above the equatorial in the Sol System
First name: duh
Last Name: Padma
City: Professional Sawdust Maker
Old loofers secret...dried out bar of soap. Rub on pegs.
Or just buy some violin peg paste or dope.
Make sure the string, as the last wind leaves the peg, is rubbing up against the head plated or cheek plate. This last wind is the one to stop the peg from sliding out. Bet you didn't know that!
As a last resort if they are still slipping. Go find a violin loofer and ask him to ream the peg holes and sharpen or resurface the pegs. This will only cost a few bucks and be way cheaper than buying the reamer and sharpener. (about $150.)

blessings

Audiences and dispensations on Thursdays ~ by appointment only.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2013 12:59 pm