Official Luthiers Forum!

Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:37 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum rules

Same rules apply to all forums at the Luthiers Forum.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:37 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

First name: Chris
Last Name: Griffin
City: Dacula
State: Georgia
Zip/Postal Code: 30019
Focus: Build
I am a NEWB builder. Meaning, I don't have a workshop, I have cheaper tools and I am building a soprano uke. I have used the fret calculators, but I am not sure if that spacing if from the center of the fret to the center of the fret, or if it is from the edge to the edge. I am assuming it is from the center, but want to be sure before I saw my beautiful rosewood. I know there is a fretboard in there somewhere :-). I am also having trouble marking and sawing the wood after using my digital caliper to measure. I tried a test piece of stock and although the measurements were very good in pencil, the finished sawing was not precise. On one occassion, I was .5 mm off. Any tips on marking the wood accurately from a gauge and then sawing it on the accurate mark? Or is it simply patience...

Thanks,
Chris the luthier wannabe [:Y:]

PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2013 2:10 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

City: chicagoland
State: illinois
the measurements are center-to-center.
i use a long narrow strip of paper to make my measurements, reinforced with a long strip of clear scotch tape or similar. i always measure from the zero fret/nut position, rather than jumping up from each last measurement(it minimizes error). i use a quality ruler marked in mm....i use an exacto blade rather than a pen or pencil and mark the strip of paper with little cuts. then i take the paper and tape it to the board, and using the exacto blade again, press through the cuts in the paper, in to the board. press hard so you can see the marks when it is time to remove the paper.