PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2021 11:00 am 
Walnut
Walnut

First name: Bruce
Last Name: Borchardt
City: Hartland
Zip/Postal Code: 53029
Focus: Build
Hi, I have been a woodworker my whole life but have never built a guitar nor do I play one or any other instrument for that matter. My son is a jaz saxophonist with a Masters in Saxophone performance and mentioned he might want a guitar so I want to build one for him. I have a CNC router to do most of the wood cutting on. I use Fusion360 for CAD and CAM.
What I need from all of you is:
Are their CNC plans for an electric Jaz guitar if there is such a thing?
What hardware is needed? He mentioned Humbucker pickups.
I seriously know nothing about this but I can surely follow plans and instructions. I don't want to build one from a kit.
Any help you could provide would be deeply appreciated.
Thanks

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2021 12:48 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Barry
Last Name: Daniels
Can't you just press the on switch and a completed guitar pops out?

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2021 12:55 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

if a complete guitar based on my current knowledge popped out it likely would not work.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2021 1:24 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Freeman
Last Name: Keller
Bruce, first for every new builder I highly recommend Melvyn Hiscock's book Make Your Own Electric Guitar. He is due to publish a new one but many many guitars have been built from the current one. It will explain everything about how guitars work and how to make one, only doing it the old fashion way with hand and power tools.