Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 4:01 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Sat Jul 06, 2019 9:22 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

First name: Alex
Focus: Repair
Hey there, first time poster here. I have little to no experience with building guitars, but I've been interested in modifying them for a while. I have moderate experience with woodworking and wanted to see if anyone had some recommendations to get a specific effect I'm looking for. I want to selectively stain a maple fretboard so sections under accidentals have a darker stain, and sections under natural notes have a lighter stain (similar to piano keys). I'm looking for a technique that can get the finest details possible with very little splotching (Ideally I want a method where I can lightly trace out a grid pattern to differentiate the "keys"). I'd prefer to get the subtlest effect possible (I'd prefer to avoid an extreme contrast between the light and dark, and for the wood grain to be visible under the darker stain).

My thought was to mask and sand down the clear coat on the darker sections of the pattern so the light sections are still protected. Then, with the same mask still applied, apply a dye or stain. I've heard Fiebing's Oil Dye is a good choice, but I was wondering if anyone had experience selectively staining with it. Once that is done, I'd apply a bit of clear coat, remove the mask (except over frets), lightly sand, and then apply a final clear coat layer. Does this sound like it will work? Any tips?

PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2019 6:07 am 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Brian
Last Name: Howard
City: Magnolia
State: Delaware
Zip/Postal Code: 19962
You will sand through your masking doing as you propose.