Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 1:41 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2015 5:27 am 
Walnut
Walnut

Hi All

First post here.

I’m a bit of a noob with regards to the big skills of luthiery but have been setting guitars up for a few years now and have a nice little client base but I want to expand my knowledge.

As such I’ve recently attempted two re-frets on squire necks with Dunlop 6105 fret wire. They’re my own necks and were acquired with the idea that I’d practice.

Anyhow, I’m quite happy with how they’ve turned out but have a small issue with both which I can’t quite understand.

I can bend up a whole tone on all the three higher strings with a low action (0.1mm lower than Fender specs) BUT I need to have the action at Fender spec on the high E in order to get a tone and a half bend to ring out without choking. I’ve levelled, re-crowned and polished the frets on one of them three times now but I can’t get the result I’m looking for.

The fretboard radius is 9.5” and I didn’t plane the boards before refretting. I know that this action is possible on a standard US made Fender as I have one with the exact setup with no choking issues. I know I’m bending the string to more than most people do but it should be possible.

Any ideas of what I may have done wrong?

Thanks

Sacha

PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2015 7:12 am 
Old Growth Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Hesh
Last Name: Breakstone
City: Ann Arbor
State: Michigan
Hi Sacha and welome to the forum.

Fender style bolt-on necks invariably either have or develop a bit of a ski ramp with the frets over where the neck bolts on to the body.

For low action the ski ramp has to be eliminated and milled away. Getting the ski ramp area, over the body level with the rest of the frets is usually not good enough and this means that we need to have two planes in the geometry of the frets as the strings see them.