Walnut
Walnut

First name: Greg
Last Name: Livingston
City: Cooranbong
State: NSW
Zip/Postal Code: 2265
Hi to readers,

I'm new at this and my first attempt has worked out well BUT!!!

The guitar I've built is a 3/4 scale length Musicman / OLP MM4 copy for my 8 year old son. 2H instead of HSS. I was trying to incorporate as many skill development aspects as possible into this project and this has caused the problem. In hind-sight I should have kept it as simple as possible and probably left the whole Tremolo Bridge thing out of the equation as it is only a beginners guitar after all.

The problem is that I designed the position of the Floyd Rose (Licensed) according to the specification that came with it.

Unaware that there could possibly be any issues I produced a quality body out of solid Queensland Maple (Flindersia Brayleyana), the neck from Tasmanian Oak (Grevillea Robusta) and a Merbau (Intsia Bijuga) fingerboard. Some nice hardware from Stew-Mac and a set of V1 V2 Humbuckers out of an Ibanez SC420 that I rewired due to the previous owner cutting the wires short. I am so happy with the quality of my work after hours making full size hand drawn plans, CAD drawn accurate layouts of body cavities and router templates, making templates and test pieces out of cheap timber etc etc. tooling up and all else that goes with the first guitar.

Here's the crunch!!. It all fitted together beautifully BUT when I put the strings on and began setting up the intonation I immediately find that the bridge saddles need to be right back to the limit of their adjustment and my 12th fret tuning is still sharp. To flatten a string I need to lengthen it, right? Can't do it.