All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 9:52 pm 
Koa
Koa

First name: Blain
City: Leander
State: Texas
Focus: Build
Hi all. I'm hoping this will be the right place to ask this question.

I haven't built any electric guitars (yet) and the guitar for which I'm asking this question will also not be an electric.

I'm building my girlfriend an Acoustic guitar using Figured Maple and she wants it to be green (Back & Sides only).
I've never done anything like this before and tried and tried to talk her out of it, but she really wants a green guitar.

She doesn't want it Solid Green, but rather wants it transparent to where you can see the figure in the wood.

Attachment:
green-guitar1.jpg

The dyes that I bought are from Lmi and are the Analine dyes as shown on the link below. (I bought the blue and Yellow in hopes to make green)
http://www.lmii.com/CartTwo/thirdproducts.asp?searchtext=FSTBLW&Submit=Quick+Search&NameProdHeader=Aniline+Dyes+Water+Soluble

So now for my question... Did I buy the right kind of dye to get something similar to the picture above? If not, what should I get? It will be a waterbase finish.

Should the dye be mixed in with the finish or should the dye be mixed by itself and sprayed before or after the finish?
Any other good tips that might help me along the way?

Thank you in advance for your time in responding to this post.

Regards,
Blain Ullrich

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

http://www.ullrichguitar.com

"89.67% of all statistics are made up on the spot."

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 3:31 am 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member