Official Luthiers Forum!

Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:15 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum rules

Be Nice to our new friends! Remember, everybody starts somewhere!

Post subject: Need Advice!
PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2014 5:46 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

First name: Wizard
Last Name: Kelly
City: Lafayete
State: LA
Zip/Postal Code: 70506
Focus: Build
Hello everybody, I'm Wizard.

I would like some advice on where to start. I have no woodworking experience and no tools.

I'm really interested in building classical and acoustic guitars.

Any advice on getting started is welcome and appreciated :D

Post subject: Re: Need Advice!
PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2014 5:48 pm 
Site Admin

First name: Lance
Last Name: Kragenbrink
City: Vandercook Lake
State: Michigan
Zip/Postal Code: 49203
Hi Wizard! I started with a Martin kit and would recommend any first timer to start with a serviced kit. Several of our sponsors sell them. Kits will allow you to get started with minimal tooling. I'm sure you will get lots of advice and encouragement here at the OLF.

These users thanked the author LanceK for the post: Wizard (Sat Jun 07, 2014 6:53 pm)

PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2014 5:52 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

Thanks Lance!

Another question:

I see a lot of back and side kits...Where do I get the fronts ?

PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2014 6:29 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Beth
Last Name: Mayer
City: Tucson
State: AZ
Hi Wizard,