Official Luthiers Forum!

Solely owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:53 am


All times are UTC - 5 hours


Forum rules


Be Nice to our new friends! Remember, everybody starts somewhere!




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Just Bought A Strat Kit
PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:50 pm 
Offline
Walnut
Walnut

Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 6:59 pm
Posts: 19
First name: Harvey
Last Name: Setterfield
City: London
State: London
Zip/Postal Code: N17 6XW
Country: England
Focus: Build
Status: Professional
After my SG kit I bought last year turned out okay I decided to get myself a Strat kit too, but am a bit stuck (the instructions are in German lol). The headstock has two holes where you put these things in for the strings to go through, and one is higher than the other (due to a cylinder shaped bit of metal that goes underneath them). Was just wondering which one is supposed to be the highest one..? The one nearest the thickest E string or the one nearest the thinnest E string..?

I don't have a Scooby Doo what I'm doing lol :lol:

Many thanks in advance for any help!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:57 pm 
Offline
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:04 am
Posts: 3483
First name: Chris
Last Name: Pile
City: Wichita
State: Kansas
Country: Good old US of A
The tallest one will be closest to the nut will hold down the D & G strings.
The shorter one farther from the nut holds down the B & E strings.

Have fun, and ask more questions if you get stuck.

_________________
Stop saying "How stupid can you get?" Too many people are taking it as a challenge!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 4:05 pm 
Offline
Walnut
Walnut

Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 6:59 pm
Posts: 19
First name: Harvey
Last Name: Setterfield
City: London
State: London
Zip/Postal Code: N17 6XW
Country: England
Focus: Build
Status: Professional
Brilliant, thanks for that. Got it all sorted now, ta!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 5:45 pm 
Offline
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 8:35 pm
Posts: 2300
Location: Austin, Texas
First name: Dan
Last Name: Smith
City: Round Rock
State: TX
Zip/Postal Code: 78681
Country: USA
Focus: Build
Status: Amateur
Hey Harv,
Unless I missed seing it, I'm still waiting for a picture of your SG kit.
Regards from across the pond,
Dan

_________________
wah
Wah-wah-wah-wah
Wah


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 9:32 am 
Offline
Walnut
Walnut

Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 6:59 pm
Posts: 19
First name: Harvey
Last Name: Setterfield
City: London
State: London
Zip/Postal Code: N17 6XW
Country: England
Focus: Build
Status: Professional
dzsmith wrote:
Hey Harv,
Unless I missed seing it, I'm still waiting for a picture of your SG kit.
Regards from across the pond,
Dan


Yup, you must have missed them, I attached pics to my original post here. 8-)

Got another question for you all about my Strat kit. Was messing around with the action and trem and doing so managed to break a string so decided to replace them all. After I'd removed the strings I inadvertantly put a fair bit of pressure on the trem and the bridge, which was screwed in, popped out! wow7-eyes This has basically made the holes too big so they don't screw in too securely. Since I bunged the new strings on I've made the bridge more 'floaty' so that I can use the trem both ways but for some reason I can't tune the strings!!! [headinwall]

Not sure if this is because of the screw holes attaching the bridge to the body being too loose or if there's something else I've done wrong. Every time I check the tuning of a string (the bottom E for example) it's flat. So I tune if sharper to make it an E. Then I tune the A string which is also flat and work my way up...but as I tune the other strings it makes the strings in tune flat again. So now I'm stuck with a guitar that's impossible to tune.

Should I get some wider screws, should I adjust the springs so that the bridge isn't floating or something else..?

I've got the truss rod adjusted properly, the action is exactly how I like it and no problem bending notes and no fret buzz and my brdge is floating around 3mm from the body.

If there's any more info you guys need I'll be happy to let you know, and thanks in advance (again!) for any help!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 1:34 pm 
Offline
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:04 am
Posts: 3483
First name: Chris
Last Name: Pile
City: Wichita
State: Kansas
Country: Good old US of A
OK..... the 6 screws that held down the bridge pulled out?
Either that is some really soft wood, or the holes were drilled out too large.
There are some methods to fix this.... but let me continue.

If this a stock vibrato rig, with no string locks on the bridge or at the nut.... it will not stay in tune with the bridge floating. WILL NOT, OK? Just the nature of the beastie. You would have to adjust the springs tighter to set the bridge flat and solid when the guitar is tuned to pitch.

Tell more more, or post pix of your holes before I answer - would you please?

_________________
Stop saying "How stupid can you get?" Too many people are taking it as a challenge!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 3:23 pm 
Offline
Walnut
Walnut

Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 6:59 pm
Posts: 19
First name: Harvey
Last Name: Setterfield
City: London
State: London
Zip/Postal Code: N17 6XW
Country: England
Focus: Build
Status: Professional
Oh, I see. It's just a bog standard one, no locks or anything anywhere. So I guess I'll just have to loosen the 3 springs by loosening the two screws so that the bridge comes down then..?

Have also just realised looking at the instructions (I've attached the PDF page to this post) that I've also managed to put the springs for the trem in the wrong place lol, if you look at it and name the things that the springs go onto 12345 in the diagram it has the springs attached to 234 whereas I've attached them to 135. Ooops! :oops:

Will loosen the screws so that my bridge stops floating and see how it goes from there!


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 5:46 pm 
Offline
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 8:35 pm
Posts: 2300
Location: Austin, Texas
First name: Dan
Last Name: Smith
City: Round Rock
State: TX
Zip/Postal Code: 78681
Country: USA
Focus: Build
Status: Amateur
harv wrote:
dzsmith wrote:
Hey Harv,
Unless I missed seing it, I'm still waiting for a picture of your SG kit.
Regards from across the pond,
Dan


Yup, you must have missed them, I attached pics to my original post here. 8-)

Got another question for you all about my Strat kit. Was messing around with the action and trem and doing so managed to break a string so decided to replace them all. After I'd removed the strings I inadvertantly put a fair bit of pressure on the trem and the bridge, which was screwed in, popped out! wow7-eyes This has basically made the holes too big so they don't screw in too securely. Since I bunged the new strings on I've made the bridge more 'floaty' so that I can use the trem both ways but for some reason I can't tune the strings!!! [headinwall]

Not sure if this is because of the screw holes attaching the bridge to the body being too loose or if there's something else I've done wrong. Every time I check the tuning of a string (the bottom E for example) it's flat. So I tune if sharper to make it an E. Then I tune the A string which is also flat and work my way up...but as I tune the other strings it makes the strings in tune flat again. So now I'm stuck with a guitar that's impossible to tune.

Should I get some wider screws, should I adjust the springs so that the bridge isn't floating or something else..?

I've got the truss rod adjusted properly, the action is exactly how I like it and no problem bending notes and no fret buzz and my brdge is floating around 3mm from the body.

If there's any more info you guys need I'll be happy to let you know, and thanks in advance (again!) for any help!

Thanks Harv, cool-looking SG!

_________________
wah
Wah-wah-wah-wah
Wah


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 7:06 pm 
Offline
Walnut
Walnut

Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 6:59 pm
Posts: 19
First name: Harvey
Last Name: Setterfield
City: London
State: London
Zip/Postal Code: N17 6XW
Country: England
Focus: Build
Status: Professional
Cheers, I've since then replaced the chrome tailpiece and bridge with black ones. Will be painting it red in the Summer at some point.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2013 8:02 am 
Offline
Walnut
Walnut

Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 4:41 am
Posts: 22
First name: Dave
Last Name: Sayers
City: rayne
State: essex
Zip/Postal Code: CM77 6TQ
Country: England
Focus: Build
Status: Amateur
Good old Thomann, dirt cheap aren't they. I made the strat kit.
If I ever have a problem like which way up does somethiong go after I've fiddled around I google for images. The answer is uysually there in front of you.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:12 pm 
Offline
Walnut
Walnut

Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 6:59 pm
Posts: 19
First name: Harvey
Last Name: Setterfield
City: London
State: London
Zip/Postal Code: N17 6XW
Country: England
Focus: Build
Status: Professional
Yup, they're as cheap as chips but I've got minor issues with both my SG and Strat. The SG's body hasn't been cut too well, the bit where the neck goes in isn't flat so there's a little gap after I've screwed the neck in. Bit of wood filler should sort that out easy enough though. And on the Strat one of the holes for the jack socket isn't drilled in the right place so I've only got one screw holding it in until I can drill a hole in the right place lol. Plus I've got this problem with the trem.

I think the problem with the trem is the holes for those screws being slightly too big. What's the best solution to fix this..? Buy some thicker and longer screws..? Or can you get wall plugs that small..?

At some point I'll want a floating bridge too, is there some sort of bridge or nut or something you can get that stops use of the trem from detuning the guitar..?

Edit: Have attached a pic of the bridge and a pic of the claw and springs just so that you can see what the problem is. :D

Looks like those two extra springs did the trick!

But now I have a problem with my top E string. It sounds like a sitar lol. Would applying lead froma pencil fix this..? How would you apply it..? And what's the best type of pensil to use..? Or is there something better to solve the problem. It's sounding like a sitar only when played open. gaah


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
phpBB customization services by 2by2host.com