Official Luthiers Forum!

Solely owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Sun Dec 10, 2017 9:05 pm


All times are UTC - 5 hours


Forum rules


Be Nice to our new friends! Remember, everybody starts somewhere!




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2012 12:51 pm 
Offline
Walnut
Walnut

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 12:43 pm
Posts: 2
First name: Stuart
Last Name: Potter
City: High Wycombe
State: Buckinghamshire
Zip/Postal Code: HP111HN
Country: United Kingdom
Focus: Build
Status: Amateur
Hi Guys,

I bought this kit of ebay the other day

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Unfinished-He ... 5ae689b9c5

When it came I was so happy the wood grain was beautiful and the all the parts felt so premium considering the price tag.

However I am aware that headless guitars have very different bridge systems than normal guitars as the have the tuners built into the reverse tremolo locking system however I have never owned or built a headless guitar before.

The problem I am having is that the back of the guitar has no section routed out for where one normally access the back of the bridge. See Im just going from what I've seen on many guitars over the years however it may just be my inexperience with headless guitars but surely there should be a section routed out? If not I'm also have a problem seeing where I could screw in the bridge?

If it turns out it does need to be routed is there anyway I can route it myself with a professional CNC machine?

Any feedback would awesome cause I'm kind of at the end of my wick with all this!

Cheers

Stu


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2012 2:41 pm 
Offline
Walnut
Walnut

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 12:43 pm
Posts: 2
First name: Stuart
Last Name: Potter
City: High Wycombe
State: Buckinghamshire
Zip/Postal Code: HP111HN
Country: United Kingdom
Focus: Build
Status: Amateur
verhoevenc wrote:
Not all trems have a back route. Pics look like everything is good to go from what I can see. This bridge likely has a mechanism for adjustment from the top much like the kahler ridges do.
As for screwing it... Make sure you've for the right spot and then drill some screw holes if not already there.
Chris


Thanks for reassuring me. I've just looked and I'm thinking there is a way to screw it in without routing however it looks like I'm going to have to take apart the bridge. Have you got any knowledge about this?

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:44 am 
Offline
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 6:25 pm
Posts: 2743
Location: Netherlands
I have a very similar bridge to that (visually, anyway). Taking pictures of your actual bridge and body close up will help figure out what needs to go where and whether you need to disassemble your bridge before installation.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
phpBB customization services by 2by2host.com