Official Luthiers Forum!

Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:59 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum rules

Be Nice to our new friends! Remember, everybody starts somewhere!

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 9:26 am 
Walnut
Walnut

First name: Sean
Last Name: Offord
State: Norfolk
Focus: Build
My father was a carpenter all his life. I am a teacher and, to his alternating amusement and annoyance, hopeless at DIY.

My dad died last year. He left me his tools, including a big toolbox of old carpenter's tools which were his grandfathers.

For lots of reasons, some obviously to do with my dad, I'd like to try to build a classical guitar - maybe, if necessary, starting with a kit like one of those available from that mercantile place (they ship to the UK) although my dad would think that was cheating...

My question is - am I being completely daft contemplating making a guitar with no woodworking skills at all? I don't want to start by making a shelf unit or coffee table or enrolling at a night school for basic carpentry - I want to make a guitar, and if that's not possible then I will say a silent prayer of thanks for my dad's life and move on with my own existing interests - two young kids, CG, bird watching etc. I assure you I won't be spiritually bereft if the consensus is that it is too much to ask to start from scratch and expect to make anything half decent!

Most of my dad's tools won't be any use for luthiery, (some will, I'm sure - hundreds of good quality chisels, long metal rules, clamps etc etc), but I think having them is reason enough to try to use them, even if only to give my dad a good laugh from wherever he's looking down on me...