Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Ed
Last Name: Haney
City: Sugar Land (Houston)
State: Texas
Zip/Postal Code: 77479
Focus: Build
Here are some photos I took of some existing guitars' top bracing this weekend. I am sure there are other better ways to do this, but this worked OK or me and I thought I'd pass it on in case it helps. I'm no expert on this with one day's experience.

All these photos were taken in a completely dark room except for a low light source about 15 feet away off to the side of the guitar (providing a small amount of indirect light). The same focal length of 50mm was used for each shot. 50mm is about how the human eye sees things and is therefore called a "normal" lens. The 50mm lens, of course on a tripod, was exactly 5 feet from the face of the guitar and at the same height off the floor as the center seam of the guitar (35" in my room). The lens pointed at the center of bridge of each guitar. All the file sizes are the same and a rule was taped to the butt of each guitar to provide a known scale. The rule is exactly 6 inches long and 1/2" wide and is taped with the 3" mark exactly on the center seam of the top. While this rule could not be used very effectively to measure bracing widths, it could be used to measure the distance between braces, etc. providing reasonable information. If I printed and overlay these photos they could be compared fairly easily.

Note that the bridge outline can be seen clearly with the larger bridge plate under it in most pictures. Using the in-room light in addition to the bulb allowed this to occur. The in-room light provides more information and clearer information than just shooting in a completely dark room with only the in-guitar light. The details of the in-guitar light are in Part 2.