Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Richard
Last Name: Sprouse
City: Spartanburg
State: SC
Zip/Postal Code: 29302
Focus: Build
I am looking into buying a table top cnc machine to make electric bodies and necks as well as some acoustic parts such as bridges, necks, etc. I am completely new to the world of cnc and CAD/CAM software. I am curious what the members of this forum use as their CAD/CAM software? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Richard

Post subject: Re: Software
PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 11:13 pm 
Cocobolo
Cocobolo

First name: Jamie
Last Name: Unden
City: Lakeside
State: CA
Zip/Postal Code: 92040
I use Autocad for 2D simply because I have been using it for a hundred years. For 3D I use RhinoCad. For CAM I use CamBam, which is really easy for 2D+ but a challenge for 3D. The router uses Mach3.

PostPosted: Thu May 01, 2014 7:45 am 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

This topic comes up from time to time and here's a few threads where things have been discussed:

viewtopic.php?f=10106&t=41333

viewtopic.php?f=10106&t=41049

viewtopic.php?f=10106&t=36348

As to machine control, Mach 3 is pretty much the industry standard but it also is garbage. It is possible to get a lot of work done with it and I've been using it for over 3 years now but switching to something more reliable is high on my priority list. If they could work the bugs out of Mach 3 it would be really good stuff. Unfortunately they're full speed ahead on Mach 4 and from what I've heard from an alpha tester, the first releases won't even have all the functionality of Mach 3 and the major shortcomings, i.e. the CV mode trajectory planner, won't be touched for quite a while (like years).

PostPosted: Thu May 01, 2014 8:11 am 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Robert
Last Name: Cefalu
City: Buffalo
State: NY
Zip/Postal Code: 14217
Andy Birko wrote: