Walnut

First name: Robert
Last Name: Winkel
City: Los Alamos
State: NM
Zip/Postal Code: 87544
Focus: Build
Hi all

I'm quite new to the world of CNC routing. My wife and I have built a 2' x 4' CNC router and we are designing parts in Solidworks. I'm trying to learn the terminology and software requirements for the next steps. Is my understanding correct - that a CNC controller and a CAM program are separate softwares and that I need both?

If so, I would love to hear others are using, if they like it, and what they would rather be using if they don't like it.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Jim_Beam on Wed Mar 13, 2013 10:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 10:06 am 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Mach 3 works well for me. There are other choices though, and I'm sure others will be along with their input. My CAD software also has CAM code generation built into it, so I don't have need for an external CAM package.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 11:14 am 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Jim_Beam wrote:
... Is my understanding correct - that a CNC controller and a CAM program are separate softwares and that I need both?
Thanks in advance.

Yes, you are correct, the controller is part of the control system that drives the stepper/servo motor and the Cam system is where you generate the tool paths for you parts and that becomes the input for the controller. You'll also need a post processor which massages the data from the cam system into you're machine requirements. most cam systems these days come with a variety of post posts, or a least the ability to customize one.

Mach 3 seems pretty popular, but if you're a linux guy there's some open source stuff out there to.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:03 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Zeke
Last Name: McKee
City: Goodlettsville
State: TN
Zip/Postal Code: 37070