Official Luthiers Forum!

Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 8:28 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Thinking about CNC
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2008 11:25 am 
Walnut
Walnut

Im thinking about getting a cnc machine. IMservice and Romaxx has a small machinge for around 2500-3000 and Shopbot has one a little bigger for around 4500.00. I wish I could build one like some of the guys on here but I have no knowledge about the machines so I don't know what to get much less how to set it up so I guess I need to go the package deal route. Ive had 3 different machines recommed which are the ones above. The Imservice and Romaxx size might work for mandolin work but not for anything on guitars and the Shopbot Buddy is big enough for both. I don't know if I would use it enough to justify the cost.

Post subject: Re: Thinking about CNC
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2008 12:19 pm 
Koa
Koa

First name: Trevor
Last Name: Lewis
City: Crownsville
State: MD
Zip/Postal Code: 21032
Focus: Build
I'd recommend getting into cad first...Rhino is a great package at a reasonable cost (http://www.rhino3d.com)

If you find that you enjoy doing the cad work, then cnc would be a good next step.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2008 2:13 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

Someone who is into cad software and cnc machines is suppose to give me some cad software but I don't know what it is yet. He said he had used it to design his own airplane.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2008 2:16 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

I agree with Parser, learn CAD first, then a machine might make sense.
I have a cheap router and it's very frustrating at times, not the programming the machine itself. I've had to rebuild quite a bit of it due primarily to backlash issues. I think you pretty much get what you pay for in these cheap machines.