Official Luthiers Forum!

Solely owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Sun Feb 28, 2021 1:28 pm


All times are UTC - 5 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2021 12:16 pm 
Offline
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2015 8:21 am
Posts: 2091
First name: Brad
Last Name: Combs
Focus: Build
Status: Amateur
...regarding cutting a neck on a CNC. I have a neck modeled up in Aspire. I cut a test neck using a polystyrene block to make sure the toolpath works. That came out fine.

Now the question - the test in polystyrene was a full block measuring 3x3x24 (it’s for a uke) and the model and toolpath in Aspire is made based on this.

For an actual wood test I wanted to use Walnut and so I used the bandsaw to prep the blank just as if I was going to carve it by hand. This gives me two blanks from one block.

Image

If I run the toolpath it’s going to be cutting air for a lot of it. That’s OK because I’m not worried about time to cut, but this can’t be how production shops do it.

So is it a side effect of using Aspire where the toolpaths are made with an assumption of starting from a block of wood? Do other software packages let you create toolpaths which take into account a pre-cut blank?

Thanks,
Brad


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

_________________
"Is this the one where I trot downfield and act like I'm lost ?" - Billy Bob


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2021 2:50 pm 
Offline
Mahogany
Mahogany

Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2020 12:28 pm
Posts: 77
First name: Chuck
Last Name: Skarsaune
City: Butler
State: TN
Country: United States
Focus: Build
Status: Amateur
I’m not super familiar with aspire as I just have Vectric, but yes other packages (Ie MasterCAM) let you start with a stock model closer to reality so you cut less air.

Edit - Vectric/Aspire has a pretty darn good forum - could be a good place to research this.



These users thanked the author Skarsaune for the post: bcombs510 (Fri Feb 19, 2021 5:13 pm)
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2021 5:14 pm 
Offline
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2015 8:21 am
Posts: 2091
First name: Brad
Last Name: Combs
Focus: Build
Status: Amateur
Ok, that makes sense. I use Aspire for other woodworking things and it’s fine for me to take forever to carve a neck. :)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

_________________
"Is this the one where I trot downfield and act like I'm lost ?" - Billy Bob


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2021 6:36 pm 
Offline
Koa
Koa
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 11:14 am
Posts: 635
Location: Newland, North Carolina
You might be able to tweak the "project tool paths" to simulate a stock model. If you make a 3D model of the bandsawed neck blank, and then project the other tool paths onto that, it might work. I don't know for sure, but might be worth a try.

Dave



These users thanked the author ballbanjos for the post: bcombs510 (Sat Feb 20, 2021 6:48 pm)
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2021 2:07 pm 
Offline
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:59 am
Posts: 1956
Location: Rochester Michigan
Not a dumb question at all I think. As Chuck said, other CAM packages do allow you to specify the exact dimensions of the stock and the software will try not to cut air.

Generally speaking, most higher end CAM packages give a lot of control over the very fine minutiae of how the toolpaths behave at the cost of generally more complex user interface that sometimes can be kind of intimidating, especially for those just getting started.

[edited to add some more anecdotes:]
When I first started CNC-ing, I went with VisualMill for Solidworks (AKA RhinoCAM for Rhino) which is maybe two or three steps up from Aspire in my mind and it took quite a while to get the hang of it. At the same time, HSM-works (which is also now part of Fusion 360) was free for 2.5D work to try to get you hooked and while its 2.5D is a few steps above VisaulMill, the interface was so intimidating that at the time, I couldn't get anything done with it. Now with several years under my belt, that same HSM-works is pretty straight forward.....now :shock: .

Vectric traded more control of the toolpath for ease of use for a lot of different CNC woodworking applications and I think they did an absolutely outstanding job on that, It's just not the ideal tool for making production code for carving necks. I actually own Vcarve Pro because there's a decent number of things I can do on there a lot faster than I can with Fusion360 or SolidWorks+HSM or SolidWorks+VisualMill and it's worth it.

While I think that while Dave's idea might actually be possible, I suspect it would feel a lot like [headinwall] [headinwall] [headinwall] [uncle] as I pondered how fun it might be to use the project toolpaths to basically hand draw a roughing toolpath for each Z-level.... (No offense Dave ;) )

_________________
http://www.birkonium.com CNC Products for Luthiers
http://banduramaker.blogspot.com



These users thanked the author Andy Birko for the post (total 2): bcombs510 (Fri Feb 26, 2021 3:33 pm) • Michaeldc (Thu Feb 25, 2021 10:18 pm)
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2021 12:25 pm 
Offline
Koa
Koa
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 11:14 am
Posts: 635
Location: Newland, North Carolina
Andy Birko wrote:
While I think that while Dave's idea might actually be possible, I suspect it would feel a lot like [headinwall] [headinwall] [headinwall] [uncle] as I pondered how fun it might be to use the project toolpaths to basically hand draw a roughing toolpath for each Z-level.... (No offense Dave ;) )


None taken--I would think that would be a bear to try. Like you, I use VCarve Pro for things where I don't need 3D, but I use Rhino/MadCAM for 3D stuff, and MadCAM allows creating stock models.

Dave



These users thanked the author ballbanjos for the post: bcombs510 (Fri Feb 26, 2021 3:33 pm)
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
phpBB customization services by 2by2host.com