Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 7:22 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: First Resonator Build
PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 9:12 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

Greetings to all that hang out here,
I'm about to attempt a round neck resonator. It'll be my first. I've build 25 guitars and that's going well but I've never attempted a resonator and although I've played guitar for 40 years I've had very little experience playing resonators.
I was thinking about getting my feet wet with a Beard kit. Sound good? Any other suggestions? Looks like the StewMac kit is no longer offered.
Thanks a Million

Terry Kennedy
http://www.kennedyguitars.com

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 9:23 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Hi Terry,

The Beard kits are very good for a first project. They don't come with the best of their hardware, but are pretty decent. For future builds, you may want to do some hardware upgrades. I don't know if they come with Beard's best cone or not, but if you can get them to upgrade to it, you'll be happy with that. They're terrific cones.
Please post your progress pictures !

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:33 pm 
Cocobolo
Cocobolo

Hello Terry,
I can't comment about the dobro kits because I have never built nor seen one. Everything I have built has been from start to finish with raw materials.

From the look of the guitars on your site I don't think you would have any problem building a dobro,and you probably already have most of the material on hand. So in my opinion (FWIW) I would say fore go the kit and get started. [:Y:]

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 10:39 am 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

What D.L. says is probably true. You could probably just get the parts you need and build something without a "kit" per se. But that partly depends on what materials you want to use, i.e. wood species and solid wood vs plywood, etc.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 11:13 am 
Koa
Koa