PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2021 8:44 am 
Walnut
Walnut

First name: Travis
Last Name: OD
State: NY
Zip/Postal Code: 12186
Hi everyone,

I'm sorry if there are other threads on this topic - feel free to boot me. I'm a total beginner - as in, I've spent roughly 24 hours just thinking about becoming a luthier. I'm middle age, work an office job, and have played guitar most of my life. I am modestly handy but by no means an expert woodworker.

I want to pursue this, very much. Not to make millions of dollars but just out of love for the craft.

Where do I start - what books, classes, etc. are worth it and which ones are a waste of time? Any and all advice is welcomed. I know this isn't something that gets learned overnight; I'm interested in doing the process right - my focus isn't on the final product.

Thank you so much for your time and insight.

Travis

PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2021 9:03 am 
Koa
Koa

City: Tyler
State: Texas
Read up as much as you can. Get a solid understanding of the geometry before touching wood. I read up for a year before my first and don’t regret it.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2021 9:05 am 
Walnut
Walnut

Thank you, Koa.

Would you be willing to share your reading list, or a selection?

PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2021 10:24 am 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Don
Last Name: Parker
City: Charleston
State: West Virginia
Zip/Postal Code: 25314
Focus: Build
There are two well-trod paths for the first time builder: Build a kit, or start from scratch.

If you build a kit, there are several options. John Hall at Blues Creek Guitars sells a Martin type kit. Stewart MacDonald sells several. A few other OLF sponsors might sell kits with various stages of things having been done for you, like Luthiers Mercantile. You can't go wrong with these.