It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 10:20 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum rules

Be nice, no cussin and enjoy!

Post subject: bracing woods
PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2020 5:26 pm 
Mahogany
Mahogany

Has anyone any thoughts from experience using either poplar or basswood for bracing. I know it can be used for liners but wondering about it. I have used poplar for necks and it is pretty good though not very pretty. Basswood not quite the same material, but I would be glad to hear your thinking. Stay safe in these uncertain times.

Post subject: Re: bracing woods
PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2020 9:28 pm 
Cocobolo
Cocobolo

First name: Alain
Last Name: Lambert
City: Trois-Rivieres
State: Quebec
Focus: Build
Spruce is your best option as far as weight/stiffness ratio.

PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2020 10:21 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Kevin
Last Name: Looker
City: Worthington
State: OH
Zip/Postal Code: 43085
Sorry, I have no personal experience; I've always followed the convention of using spruce.

If you want to pursue this, you should do some stiffness to mass testing with the woods you want to try and compare that to spruce. Bracing is needed to give structural integrity to the top but we want to minimize resulting mass & damping from adding that bracing, unless you want a less responsive instrument. Sometimes you may want a more laid back, less responsive instrument.

Kevin Looker

These users thanked the author klooker for the post (total 2): frwilliams (Wed Apr 08, 2020 2:59 pm) • Joe Beaver (Mon Apr 06, 2020 12:04 pm)

PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2020 2:13 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

Material testing is the best path to an answer here.