PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2019 10:19 am 
Mahogany
Mahogany

First name: Bill
Last Name: Mansfield
City: El Dorado Hills
State: CA
Focus: Build
Have any of you folks heard of Mansfield Guitars? From what I can gather, this was a name used by a Canadian distributor of Japanese-built guitars from the 50's to the 90's.

This also happens to be my name. I'm a hobbyist builder, so doesn't matter much, but when inlaying a "M" in the headstock or making a label, I'm aware that someone owner the rights to my last name for guitars. (At least in Canada, I guess.)

But it leads me to the question to the pro builders here, how you chose to name your enterprise in a crowded world.

Interestingly, I have a similar thing with my little acoustic cover band - our name, which we've used since about 2004, is now in use by a Canadian band.

Canadians!

Post subject: Re: What's in a name?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2019 10:40 am 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

Those darn Canadians! gaah (this is the first time I've ever heard anyone cast aspersions on Canadians even in fun- whose next - Australians? laughing6-hehe )

To avoid confusion you should just pick a name you like (and other's might like) that someone else hasn't used. Have you ever googled your name? You might be surprised at how many other people have the same name, with similar work experience or hobbies. We once googled a friends name and found he could start a virtual online band with people of the same name who had a similar interest in music and played various instruments (if he could get them to go along with it).

PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:21 am 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Brian
Last Name: Howard
City: Magnolia
State: Delaware
Zip/Postal Code: 19962
Focus: Repair
My name has been used off and on and trademarked off and on since the 20's.