Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 8:31 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum rules

Be nice, no cussin and enjoy!

PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2018 8:39 am 
Mahogany
Mahogany

This is my first rodeo. I finally ordered the material for the soundboard, neck blank, and bracing after about a year and a half of talking myself into and out of building a guitar several times. So anyway, now Im fully onboard with seeing this through to the end, whatever the outcome. So Im probably going to ask some really dumb questions that are totally obvious to most of you. I am an accomplished woodworker, and have built many really nice pcs of furniture, but this is a totally different ballgame.

My question is about cutting the soundhole and rosette channel. What tooling is best? I see Stewmac has the dremel circle cutting jig, but then I need the base as well (already have a dreme)l. Which would be around $200 I guess for both. This might be a little costly for me for a first guitar, but probably I will build more later most likely. Also the upgraded base kit I was looking at comes with a binding channel guide, but how well does that work. I see a lot of people use some different jigs for binding and purfling so maybe this isn't a good choice. Just trying to be wise with the dollars spent. Is there any other less expensive way of doing this, that would yield just as good of results. Talking about soundhole, rosette with purfling, and binding with purfling. The book I have been studying used a regular hand held router and a handmade circle jig. I already have 3 routers.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2018 9:17 am 
Cocobolo
Cocobolo

First name: Greg
Last Name: Maxwell
City: Mount Vernon
State: Ohio
Focus: Build