Cocobolo
Cocobolo

First name: Julie
Last Name: Moriarty
City: Punta Gorda
State: FL
Zip/Postal Code: 33950
Focus: Build
Based on your own personal opinion, are you a better player or builder?

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 3:40 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

Jack of all trades master of none ;)

These users thanked the author jfmckenna for the post: Jules (Fri Jul 06, 2018 2:37 pm)

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 4:18 pm 
Cocobolo
Cocobolo

First name: Hans
Last Name: Mattes
City: Petaluma
State: CA
Zip/Postal Code: 94952
I've been playing for 50 years and am just completing my 5th guitar. I'm, without any question or reservation, a better builder.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 4:23 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Chris
Last Name: Pile
City: Wichita
State: Kansas
Focus: Repair
You get out what you put in. I spend most of my time working on 'em, not playing 'em. Guess what I'm known for? It sure ain't my jazzy octave runs or crushing speed metal solos.

These users thanked the author Chris Pile for the post: Jules (Fri Jul 06, 2018 2:37 pm)

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 4:29 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Ed
Last Name: Bond
City: Vancouver
Used to be better player than builder, now the opposite,

These users thanked the author meddlingfool for the post: Jules (Fri Jul 06, 2018 2:37 pm)

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 4:51 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Freeman
Last Name: Keller
My wife says I'm a better builder than player. She is right.

Its interesting how building has affected my playing. I've been playing since the early 1970's, mostly folkie and blues. Three chords and the truth, as long as one of them is a flatted 7th. I built guitars accordingly, small bodied acoustics, a couple of 12 strings. I consider myself a pretty good slide player - I built a tricone and a Weissenborn.