Forum rules

Be nice, no cussin and enjoy!

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 6:29 pm 
Mahogany
Mahogany

First name: Adam
Last Name: Schultz
City: Calgary
Hi. I'm a new builder and I have struggled a bit with trying to decide what exactly I like in an acoustic guitar. Part of it is because I am more of a mandolin player than a guitarist, but also I just haven't played enough sweet guitars to know what I'm searching for. I try to play as many nice guitars and mandolins as I can when I'm at a jam with a friendly player (most seem pretty happy to have you fawn over their favorite guitar), but I'm still a bit uncertain.

I just finished watching this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jj-wB8DWfJ0 titled "The three most beautiful guitars in the world". It is a pretty sweet video on its own. He plays three guitars; a Taylor, Collings, and Martin. When he plays that Collings I think, "That's it!" I love that tone. Now the problem is I don't really know what it is that I love. So here's the question: How should I characterize that tone? I guess I just don't really get how people describe tone. I know this is a difficult one to answer and is different to everyone. OMs are supposed to have a quicker attack and less bass, but I'm not sure I hear it. To me it sounds like it is complex and has many overtones and harmonics, but I thought OMs were supposed to sound more focused and not washed out in overtones. The guy playing it seems to think it is a bit thinner than his Martin. To me it sounds much richer than the D42 (and most definitely the Taylor) but I'm not sure why I feel that way. Care to take a stab at what I'm hearing that I like? Or alternatively, what do you hear?
'

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 6:54 pm 
Koa
Koa

Ill take a stab.
Although there are a lot of variables at play ... from the actual instrument all the way to if the mic is the exact distance away and such.
However given the samples the Collings sounds more “complex” to me.