Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:17 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum rules

Be nice, no cussin and enjoy!

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 5:00 pm 
Koa
Koa

Hi guys. As plenty of you know I’m a new builder with way more questions than is good for me. At this point I am working on #5 with wood in the “shop” for 6 and 7.

At this point I have tried several different finish applications and materials, and honestly not done any of them enough to get good at them. I don’t think I’ve found that: “this is my path thing”. However, I find myself consistently leaning toward a spray system finish, although the last was a FP with RL.

That said I’ve yet to GET a spray stem OR pick a finish. I have done one with nitro rattle cans, but honestly the stuff scares the crap out of me for health reasons. I don’t want my kids or wife anywhere near it either. Therefore I’m leaning toward picking a route which involves HVLP and a WB finish.

My process for learning so many different things, at least till now has been: “pick one and go until you get it”. (I mean this is even the 5th OM guitar style haha). So I’m predicting this will me my next attempt when it comes time to finish one out.

So my inquiry comes down to WB finishes I suppose.

In moving away from nitro does one loose a great deal of forgiveness?

Do WB finishes melt into the last layer like nitro or is that due to the chemical solvent, which would be missing.(which I assume is the case)

I apologize for trolling so many questions all the time. I know really mastering something comes down to lots of trial and error, but I’d like to avoid obvious pitfalls that others have made, thus the questions.

Peace
B

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 10:11 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Mike
Last Name: O'Melia
City: Huntsville
State: Alabama
Focus: Build