It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:10 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum rules

Be nice, no cussin and enjoy!

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 1:16 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Focus: Build
I have a chance to get some good deals at a "Our Father who bought a lot of nice tools just died and we want to sell everything fast and move out of state" sale.

I saw an Apollo spray system there which looks pretty nice. And many spray guns. But I have no idea what to look for in the spray guns. He was using it to spray cars. High-end Hobby. I have zero experience in spray equipment. I have no idea what to look for as far as gun types and sizes and also if they work or not. Is it just the compressor, hose and gun or are there other components that might be laying around?

I imagine if air comes out of the compressor and doesn't sound weird it's probably okay? I might be spraying typical guitar finishes. Nitro, shellac.....etc. I've heard people mention 1mm tips.

Gravity or bottom feeder?

Thanks!

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:20 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Danny
Last Name: Vincent
1mm - 1.3mm tip is best for nitro. Nitro is pretty forgiving. You can do a good job with a cheap gun but a better gun will likely save you a lot of time finish sanding. You could use a smaller tip for shellac depending on the gun. I use the same gun with 1.2 mm for nitro and shellac, for guitars, but dial the volume and air way back for shellac and dye. HVLP is best but will still require a minimum 20 gallon compressor (a little small but useable) and water traps. I put regulators on my guns. The cheap ones work fine but I'm sure you could pay a lot if you want to. :lol:

All of my guns are now gravity feed.

Good Luck!

These users thanked the author DannyV for the post: Pmaj7 (Mon Aug 02, 2021 11:14 pm)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:25 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Mike
Last Name: O'Melia
City: Huntsville
State: Alabama