Koa
Koa

First name: Paul
Last Name: Burner
City: Lincoln
State: Nebraska
Zip/Postal Code: 68506
Focus: Build
I'm a relative newbie to building - and we (son and I) are starting work on guitar #4. A friend said, "So, how much does it cost to build a guitar?" He didn't ask because he wanted to buy one - he was just curious.

I had a rough idea, but I decided to sit down with Excel and start writing everything down - padding items a little for shipping charges. Take a look at this list knowing that I don't have any resaw capabilities and would be purchasing everything from places like StewMac, LMI, Bob C, Allied Lutherie, etc.

I'm posting this to see if you think any of the prices I've come up with are out of line or if I've missed anything.

Top Wood $75
Back & Sides $100 (for EIR) and up
Brace Stock for top and back $20
Kerfed Lining $20
Binding (wood - body only) $25
Purfling $15 (including rosette)
Heel Block $10
Bridge Plate $5
Bridge (Ebony) $20 (precut by CNC and customized by me)
Bridge Pins $10
Neck (including neck block & truss rod) $140 for 5-piece from Hanalei-Moon)
Headstock Veneer Overlay (Ebony or other) $10
Headstock Logo Inlay $20
Fingerboard $45
Fretwire $10
Tuners $50 - $90
Rosette Materials (Wood, Abalone, Mother of Pearl) $25 and up
End Pin to match brige pins (wood) $5
Saddle (bone) $10
Nut (bone) $10
Polyester Finish by JW $400 (with shipping)
Consumables (sandpaper, glue, beer, etc.) $50 (my guess is not near enough if beer is included)

Total: $1,075

For some reason that makes me say "Yowzer"!

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 1:26 am 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

Hardshell case.

When all else fails, clean the shop.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 1:41 am 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

This really all depends on what you want to build (as far as back and sides and top are concerned) And how much labor you want to do yourself.
Top Wood $75 you could spend alot less, like $40 and still get a decent top