Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 8:39 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum rules

Be nice, no cussin and enjoy!

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 10:08 am 
Koa
Koa

I have the same or similar guitar, D-09 BRW with traditional neck. Great guitar, but dosnt get as much attantion at the L or P. I'm not a repair expert, but I'm guessing you should let this thing soak up a bunch of moisture and then reasses the situation. These usually come set up fairly well from the factory, or at lease the ones I've bought and played in the stores.

I'm right up the road in Milwaukee and I can tell you that I have issues keeping things humidified even while being anal about it. When its cold cold, i cant get the shop above 38%. Thats after sealing off the rafters and spaces and running one humidifier and one vaporizer all the time. It can drop to 20% fast. So if someone takes no steps to humidify, i can see major problems. Its 45 F now and supposed to drop to -4 F tonight. Burrrrrrr.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 10:44 am 
Mahogany
Mahogany

is excessive f-board extension fall away really a problem?

I agree with letting the guitar re-humidify, but i would`nt expect miracles...and certainly I would`nt replace the UFB.

does the guitar buzz, or are there any issues with the playability of the guitar? if the relife is ok, then what is it about the fall away that bothers you?

I used to build at 45% humidity in my shop....but now i build at 30 to 35%. this has really helped with my winter stability issues.
Most people are going to dry out their guitars no matter how much you educate them on the subject, so I build on the dry side to be safe. my guitars are their happiest during this time of year.

Matt

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 2:49 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

If you are sure nothing is loose and the guy doesn't play up there, I think you should leave it alone.